Tipping & Ratings: After Round 12, 2019

19-06-11-tipping.PNG

Sadly, for a third consecutive week, my algorithm had a disappointing outcome, well below the number of tips I wanted and my MAE was a bit above what I wanted. The Sydney-West Coast match perfectly demonstrated the pros of a player-based model (Yeo and Hurn were both outs for West Coast, 2 of their best players), and I should be working on integrating for next year.

19-06-11-ratings.PNG

As expected in a week that didn’t quite go to plan, there was quite a lot of movement.

  • Generating the most movement was the aforementioned Sydney-West Coast match, which tanked West Coast’s rating and got Sydney to rise to 10th from 14th last week.
  • Carlton’s upset win over Brisbane ensured that Carlton and Gold Coast continue their 18th place tango.
  • Richmond’s big loss to Geelong moved them into the negatives.
  • Adelaide’s upset win over GWS enabled them to jump over West Coast and Essendon into 4th place.

Leave a comment